Craftsmanship

Recently, I saw The Atlantic posted a documentary video about “How Tweed Gets Made“, focusing on Harris Tweed. After watching it, I started to contemplate about craftsmanship and why I care about where things get made and by whom.

Having determined to own only a small collection of clothing I really began to think about the quality of each garment I own and will own, so started the obsession with finding the best cashmere I could afford. I read many reviews out there, and Chanel cashmere really stood out. What made it so special was not only the quality of cashmere that was being used, but also the finishing and craftsmanship associated with the production of each item. Much like with the above documentary, there’s also one about how Chanel cardigans are made.  What I love about both videos is the emphasis on real people who took the time to learn a craft, and are now using their mad skills to make the beautiful pieces one might wear for years to come.

img_5498
My last Chanel cardigan purchase of 2016, and this particular winter season.

Watching this video really makes me think of the luxury of buying a garment made by hand or finished by hand, in small quantities, in a place that’s been dedicated to making that same thing for generations. I don’t know why, but maybe there’s a nostalgia involved in this type of idea that makes it feel like magic. It feels like true luxury to me, because I believe that mass production and fast fashion has taken away that special attention to details that is so closely associated with true craftsmanship.

img_5500
I absolutely love the sleeves. This design detail just makes it that much more beautiful and special to me.

This is exactly why I want to buy shoes made in Italy, and cashmere made in the UK, or bags made in France. I know I’ve mentioned before how I try to buy things made in the U.S., but honestly I feel like what I really want to embrace are companies that care about heritage, their environment, and about their workers.Wherever they may be.

 

Leave a Reply

