Skincare Review

Come Cleanse Away With Me: Kypris and de Mamiel

So. It’s been truly a while since I’ve sat down to write a blog post, but let me assure you that it hasn’t been because I’ve decided to abandon this little writing project. I’ve seen many blogs I’ve enjoyed reading with a post bemoaning life getting in the way of blogging, and alas… I’ve now officially fallen into the same category. Starting a new job in the early days of September left me quite busy, and I neglected blogging and doing Yoga. Both of which are things I’d really like to get back to. Therefore, let’s just get back to regular programing.

In this post I’d like to discuss cleansing, since I really believe that finally getting it right has made a huge difference in the way my skin behaves, or shall I say… misbehaves.

Until August of this year I had spent a truly awful lot of money and time dealing with my increasingly frustrating skin, which decided to continually rebel against me by having blemishes and rashes like it’s going out style. On top of that, dry skin was compounding the problem and making me feel like there isn’t a sum of money I wouldn’t pay to stop having to deal with all of this. See my post on Kypris skincare to see just how much I have been willing to pay for this peace of mind.

Fast forward to today, my skin care is slightly different now than the all Kypris routine of summer (will explore in another post), but the foundation of cleansing has remained the same and likely will for a long time. See, when I first got interested in Korean skincare routines I learned a lot about double cleansing. Only, with my skin being so dry and unhappy with everything I put on it… I felt that figuring out two cleansers was beyond what I was willing to deal with. Then my affair with Kypris began, and I discovered their Cleanser Concentrate.

kypris-cleanser-concentrate-1
As you can see, I am now on my second jar of this Kypris cleanser.

It felt remarkably light and moisturizing. It felt like I was putting on some lovely cream that would magically take away grim accumulated during my day. It felt like I wasn’t sure it was actually cleaning my face, because seriously this thing feels like a face cream. It was this, and Integrity Botanical’s delightful sample policy that led me to think that perhaps I needed one more cleanser in my life.

I resisted it very much so. One more step at night seemed like an awful waste of counter/medicine cabinet space, money, and precious waking hours. Still, I felt like I was still dealing with too many blemishes and blackheads than was normal to me. I decided to try out de Mamiel’s Restorative Cleansing Balm and see where it took me.

de-mamiel-2
It took me a while before I was ready to buy a full jar of this cleanser…But I’ve been very happy to have made that decision!

As soon as my sample was done, I ordered a full jar of it and I’ve been using it nightly for about three months. Now, I’m not about to say that I am magically blemish free. I do get them around a particular time of the month, but I certainly am much much less blemished than I was and my skin feels so much less congested.

This balm smells citrusy and is a pleasure to breath in. If I am up to it, I’ll massage it into my face and see blackheads escaping to freedom, though this happens a lot less these days now that my cleansing actually works for me. I also use it to remove my make up, though I have learned to skimp on the amount I use, unless I want to enjoy a deep burning sensation in my eyeballs. I use a Qtip to remove my eyeliner and a cotton pad to ensure the job is done. Less burning, more make up removing.

de-mamiel-and-kypris

Honestly, though, I have wondered if I should skip the double part and only use the de Mamiel cleansing balm. Presumably, removing it can be done with a warm towelette pressed onto the skin. One might imagine this would work better for dry skin, too. I, however, am too lazy to do that. I’ve opted to continue to use the Kypris cleanser that easily removes the oily feeling of the balm cleanser. I’ve also been terrified of making any changes to this basic ensemble, because now that my skin is not being a pain in my bottom I have grown to cherish this feeling. I don’t want to obsess about what might work and what might not work anymore. I’m pleased with this combination, and can recommend it to anyone with dry skin who is looking for a delicate and lovely scented cleanse.

Leave a Reply

