Closet Chronicals

Life’s Little Happenstance: I Developed a Work Uniform Schedule, Despite Myself

In a few very short weeks I will be returning to the classroom, and will be leaving my jeans and t-shirt behind in favor of more polished looks. Excluding workout gear, accessories, and my lounge t-shirts, I only have 30 items of clothing for summer and fall, so I wasn’t surprised when I noticed that my closet seemed a little skinny once I unpacked it all upon returning from Italy.

I really wasn’t too concerned, though, about what I will wear to work on a daily basis. That is until I took inventory and realized I only have 10 shirts. And of those, I have doubles. Two striped 3/4 shirts from Small Trades. Two silk tops from Cuyana. Two button ups (one from Tradlands, and a super old one from J.Crew). Four t-shirts (two white, two black). Ok. Well, I also have three dresses, five black pants, and three cashmere cardigans. Then an interesting realization set in. I can literally plan out what I will wear each day until winter rolls around because, hey, I have multiples and not that many clothes overall, and I would like to avoid wearing the same exact outfit in a different color every day.

This is what I’ve come up with: to rotate my wardrobe, I settled on a schedule:

Monday:

  • Dress

Tuesday:

  • Striped shirt + black pants

Wednesday:

  • Silk top + jacket + black pants

Thursday:

  • Button up + black pants

[Casual] Friday:

  • T-shirt + cardigan + jeans

 

This is it. I guess. See, I didn’t set out to create this uniform or wardrobe schedule. I didn’t set out to over-simplify my collection. I didn’t want to pretty much look the same every day, every week. More than anything, I am seriously not interested in starting some sort of a one year experiment/challenge, I just wanted to make my life easier. One would argue, I accidentally did.

So what is a girl to do? As I see it, I have a few options. I can work against this happenstance and shop for totally different items or I can lean into it and add a few more pieces that match the overall style I already have. I am choosing the latter, because… Well…

I had some free time, and a burning question. What is my personal style anyway? What do I like? I’m turing 32 this week, so I thought this wouldn’t be such an existential questions having managed to dress myself up for the last 20 some years. I decided the easiest way to define my style would be to create a  digital picture board (Pintesting, not withstanding). So, I did that. It turns out I just love button up shirts, jackets, and stripes a little too much.

Screen Shot 2016-07-28 at 4.54.51 PM

So, my choice isn’t made because of some nobel wish to challenge myself to be better. It mainly was borne out of failure to find anything else to wear (rant, coming to a blog post near you very soon) and due to loving just very specific things. I don’t want it to sound like I am sad about it, but I must admit I am somewhat apprehensive about it. Will it be just too dull? Will it drive me nuts by being too repetitive? Time will tell. I’ll let you know.

2 thoughts on “Life’s Little Happenstance: I Developed a Work Uniform Schedule, Despite Myself

  1. Funny, I just turned 32! Thank you for the birthday wishes 🙂 Yeah, I always wonder if a personal style really ends up meaning that you wear that which you truly like on repeat. I feel like when you look at people who are considered quite fashionable, like Anna Wintour, they also have a certain unifying theme to what they choose to wear.

    Like

  2. If it makes you feel any better, I’m 32 and still working on figuring out my personal style as well. I don’t think there’s anything wrong with liking certain styles too much, if anything it makes it easier to put together a cohesive wardrobe.

    Hope you have/had a happy birthday!

    Like

Leave a Reply

