Skincare Review

Sheet Mask Challenged 2: Whamisa Hydrogel Sheet Masks

In my previous sheet mask review post I discussed the difficulties of finding sheet masks that didn’t cause my skin to break out (Butylene Glycol is my Kryptonite), and while I’ve been pleased with some of the masks I have found… I always believed something more exciting was out there. Today I’d like to share a few thoughts about Whamisa’s Organic Hydrogel sheet masks. Let’s discuss.

Sheet Masks Organic 1
My tried and tested sheet masks. If you are looking for inexpensive and fun to use masks, I recommend these.

Whamisa’s masks have been alluring to me for quite some time. My love of all that is Whamisa has been well documented, but the thought of spending $8-$10 per mask seemed ridiculous to me. A sheet mask, while wonderful, is a one time use only product. Effects can be spectacular after use, I am told, but nothing is long lasting. So when I choose my masks I don’t want to spend so much, and I’ve attempted to cap it at $4 per mask.

Having said this, I finally gave up and decided to give Whamisa’s masks a try since I noticed they were available with free Prime shipping on Amazon. Shhh, Sheet masks… You had me at free shipping.

Whamisa Organic Flowers & Aloe Vera Hydrogel Sheet Mask

Whamisa Flowers Aloe Sheet Mask 1

Ingredients: This mask has simple and non-irittating  ingredients (see CosDNA analysis), which I love. I also appreciate the fact the ingredients are organic, which I realized is one of the key words to use when searching for BG free masks.

Other honorable mentions are Aloe, which is always calming, and while I love using my Camellia oil on my hair now, it has also been great as a moisturizer, so I was pleased to also see Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract in the list of ingredients.

Fit & Consistency: This mask is slippery! Removing it from the plastic case was quite the feat, but placement on my face was easy enough. No mask ever really fits my face – they are always too big – but this was was closer to fitting me than most. I felt like I could move around with the mask on my face, but I’ll be the first to admit I didn’t actually read the directions for using this mask, so I applied Camellia oil to my skin before the mask and not the actual serum from the mask, like you are supposed to.

Whamisa Flowers Aloe Sheet Mask 2
I didn’t realize that the back of the sheet mask was different until I held the mask in my hands. The plastic backing holds extra serum and the folded two parts mask.

Feel & Results:  The mask was really pleasant to use. It felt cool and calming, and I kept it on for about 30 minutes before it felt like it was drying out. Upon removing the mask, my face looked ever so slightly less red and nothing more. My skin seemed slightly hydrated, but felt much better once I used my Aromatica Absolute Rose cream.

The packaging suggests the mask will help with whitening, but I didn’t experience a significant change in my redness or skin tone, overall. Moreover, I think that the cooling sensation is what contributed to my redness decreasing. The mask is also supposed to help moisturize your skin, but my skin has been quite moisturized lately, so I can’t say it truly helps with that either.

Overall Verdict:

Using the mask felt enjoyable due to the cooling sensation, and was really soothing to use. I always think that sheet masks provide more of a relaxing effect than anything else, and this one rocked it. I felt quite comfortable and calm as I just read a book and did nothing else. After all, with one time use or occasional use, this mask was unlikely to rock my world or improve my skin like a good serum would, and it didn’t.

So, would I buy it again?  Probably only for it’s entertainment value, or when I feel like I am particularly stressed at work.

You can buy the mask from Amazon for $8.86 with free Prime shipping. It’s also available on Glow Recipe for $9, plus shipping (you can use my referral code to get $5 off your first purchase).

 

Whamisa Organic Fruits & Tomato Fermented Hydrogel Facial Mask

Ingredients: Another organic fermented blend of simple ingredients here (CosDNA analysis), but this time the mask is supposed to sooth irritated skin. The floral smell that is present in the Aloe mask is actually quite different than the very faint smell of this mask, and it almost seemed unscented, actually.

Fit & Consistency: See above. This time I did actually put the serum from the mask on before actually putting the mask on, and it did not cause the mask to slip or move at all.

Whamisa mask open
The mask, upon opening the container.

Feel & Results: Oddly, I felt like this mask was a little less cold and calming. It dried within about 20-25 minutes, and when I removed it I could see no change at all in my skin tone or hydration level.

Overall Verdict:

Will not be repurchasing this one. I didn’t see any difference after using this mask, but I do think it might have slightly irritated my skin because the next day I had a little bit of a breakout. Sorta defeats the purpose of this mask, actually. It also dried so much more quickly, and perhaps because of the scentless-ness of it seemed less relaxing to me.

Whamisa Tomato Mask

If you do feel like you’d like to give this one a try, it’s available on Amazon for $9.90 (free Prime shipping), and on Glow Recipe for $9, plus shipping (free over $50, and again you can use my referral code to get $5 off your first purchase).

Finally,

I am actually less impressed than I thought I would be by the Whamisa masks. I love the brand, but I now seem to use only their toner and as it runs out will likely try something else. I’ve used this toner day and night for a full year, and although it is hydrating I don’t see any other changes in my skin texture (which is the one claim it does make). I believe I will be moving on to the Aromatica Rose Absolute First Serum (which is also a toner) or the YURI PIBU Artichoke Power Toner next.

Leave a Reply

