Skincare Review

Battle of the Lip Balm: Whamisa VS. Weleda

Oh Winter. It’s as if you are determined to make me moisturize from head to toe. While dry lips can certainly plague us during warmer months, dry and peeling lips are somehow made even worse during the winter. That’s why I hoard lip balms every where I go. Let’s discuss two of them in this short review.

Lipbalm Comparison 1

Note to self: I use the word “dry” a lot. Must use a thesaurus.

Our two lip balms are: Weleda Everon Lip Balm and Whamisa Organic Flowers Lip Moisture. My lips aren’t always so droughty (Thanks, Thesaurus!), but when they feel dry it can be quite distracting, so I always keep lip balms around. Let’s compare my latest two purchases:

Ingredients:

Whamisa (copied from Glow Recipe):

“*Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea) Butter Shea, *Olea Europaea (Olive) Fruit Oil Olive, *Beeswax, *Kyounin Yu, **Scutellaria Baicalensis Root Extract, **Paeonia Suffruticosa Root Extract,**Glycyrrhiza Glabra (Licorice) Root Extract, *Lactobacillus/Chrysanthemum Sinense Flower Ferment Filtrate, *Lactobacillus/Nelumbium Speciosum Flower Ferment Filtrate, *Lactobacillus/Dandelion Leaf/Root Extract Ferment Filtrate, Citrus Aurantium Dulcis (Orange) Peel Oil, Mentha Viridis (Spearmint) Leaf Oil *Certified Organically grown, ** Natural Preservative”

Weleda (copied from their US website):

“Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Beeswax (Cera Flava), Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea) Butter, Euphorbia Cerifera (Candelilla) Wax, Rosa Damascena (Rose) Flower Wax, Copernicia Cerifera (Carnauba) Wax, Vanilla Planifolia Fruit Extract, Rosa Damascena (Rose) Extract, Citronellol*, Benzyl Alcohol*, Geraniol*, Eugenol*, Farnesol*.
* from natural essential oils”

They both use some really great ingredients, which is why I bought them. They both contain Beeswax, as well.

Texture & Application:

I really prefer Whamisa’s lip balm to Weleda’s Everon lip balm. If you enjoy dabbing your lip balm on, go with Weleda. It just won’t go on smoothly. It’s so incredibly thick and sticky that I can never just use it normally. I just dab some of it on my lips and move on. Whamisa’s Organic Flowers Lip Moisture applies smoothly and easily.

Lipbalm Comparison 4
Look how smooshed the Weleda lip balm stick is. That’s because it does not apply smoothly. It’s very melty and sticky.

I don’t like how sticky my lips feel when I use the Weleda balm, which I notice especially if I drink from my water bottle after applying it. The stickiness and thickness is then transferred to my bottle, and while it doesn’t taste like much, it’s still a flavor I’d rather not be enjoying with my infused water.

Smell:

The Organic Flowers Lip Moisture balm smells faintly of mint, but the scent is really not strong. The Everon lip balm smells sweet and ever so slightly of honey. It’s quite pleasant. I don’t know that I prefer one over the other in this particular instance.

Lipbalm Comparison 3

Overall Effect:

Ok. This is difficult to say, but neither one is particularly amazing. While I feel the Weleda lip balm holds moisture a little longer, I wouldn’t say it is significantly effective. I use the Whamisa balm sometimes hourly, while I seem to use the Weleda balm less often. I must admit that this is the third time I’ve purchased the Weleda Everon lip balm. I think it used to be more effective and less sticky once upon a time.

Lipbalm Comparison 2.jpg

Still, we’re not talking about a “once a day and done” application, so I’m not sure I would recommend either one, though I’ve yet to find a much better lip balm.

Cost:

Whamisa Organic Flowers Lip Moisture costs about $8 before shipping from TesterKorea, and $11 before shipping from Glow Recipe.

Amazon, meanwhile, will sell you three Weleda lip balms for $19.36  (with free Prime shipping).

Personally, I don’t want to pay so much for something I am likely to lose almost immediately (seriously, how do I constantly lose my lip balms?), so once I lost my Whamisa lip balm (later to be found in my dryer), I opted to go with Weleda. I’m almost sure, though, that there are far better balms out there.

As an aside, I am currently testing Burt’s Bees Lip Balm (Beeswax) and am finding it minty, tingly, and somewhat effective. I will review it next if I manage not to lose it in the next few weeks.

Which lip balm do you use and love? Please share in the comments below.

Leave a Reply

