Skincare Review

The Love List – A Lazy-Person’s Make Up Routine Featuring Innisfree

Simple, fast, and requiring low-level skills is what I look for in my cosmetics. I don’t know about you, but I really don’t want to follow a complicated routine each morning. Here are the cosmetics I use daily, and absolutely love.

Waking up at 5am every day has caused me to look for simple routines to follow that take mere minutes to execute with maximum impact (i.e., make me look less sleepy).

Eye makeup.
My favorite eye makeup.

Innisfree Skinny Microcara:

Innisfree Liner and Mascara 2My lashes are naturally on the long side, and using a mascara is my go-to when I try to go for a polished look.

Why use it:

  • There’s nothing worse than lumpy lashes or a mascara flaked face, so when I realized this tiny tiny mascara doesn’t causes either I decided to stick to it.
  • It looks and feels super delicate, so I was a bit apprehensive about using it at first. Don’t let it deter you, though. It’s amazingly thin applicator makes my lashes look long and natural with just a few swipes.
  • Did I mention it makes my lashes appear super long? It also separates the lashes beautifully, making them look quite full.

Get it from the Innisfree website for $10 or from Amazon with Prime shipping for $11.13.

Innisfree Eco Lasting Eyeliner:

Innisfree Liner and Mascara

Last year I tried using a gel liner with a brush applicator, only to find it half smudged off my eyes by the time lunch rolled around. Alternatively, I would find it smudged across my face.

Why Use It:

  • I can promise you, this liner is totally smudge proof! It even stayed on my eyes without any change for about 72 hours while flying around the world. This one lasts.
  • I’m not exactly skilled at using eyeliners. Sometimes I have to clean it off my eyelids about 3 times before I finally draw a decently thin line. Hey, it’s 5am when I apply it! I can easily correct any mistakes I make using a Q-tip soaked in water. The applicator took me a while to get used to, but now I know how to draw a fine line or a thick line.
  • You don’t need anything special to remove it at the end of the day. It took me a while to realize it, but using a cotton pad and water to remove it is the best approach.

I ordered it from the Innisfree website at the time, but I haven’t seen it there in a while. It’s still available at TesterKorea, though. I plan on stocking up on them, just in case it gets discontinued.

Innisfree Eco Fruit Tint – Cherry:

Innisfree Fruit Tint in the color cherry.
Innisfree Fruit Tint in the color cherry.

As you might have noticed, I look for life-proof make up. I don’t have time to look in the mirror when I teach, and students are very aware of how I look (for better or worse), and can always be counted on to let me know when something is amiss. I like to minimize the times something is amiss.

Why Use It:

  • This won’t smudge on your face or teeth, so long as you let it dry after application. Really, this takes less than a minute to dry, which is great since I apply it on my way out the door.
  • It barely fades after I eat, which means I apply it when I get up and that’s about it. I see it, still on my lips thought slightly faded, at the end of the day.
  • While it can be drying, I haven’t found it to cause my lips to chap noticeably. I can always apply a moisturizing lip balm on top of it, but I rarely need to.
  • I can control how bold my lips look. It’s easy to layer this lip tint for a more dramatic look, and it’s easy to keep it barely noticeable for work. Apply it lightly to your lips, let it absorb, and use a Q-tip if you need to spread it around.
  • It smells like cherry, but doesn’t taste like anything. I appreciate that, if only because I’d like to avoid using gross tasting lipsticks.

You can buy it for $5 from the Innisfree website, or from TesterKorea. I’ve also tried using Peripera Peri’s Tint Water in the color Strawberry, but I find that it lasts less time and dries less quickly.

Peripera Peri's Tint Water in Strawberry Juice next to the Innisfree Fruit tint. The former is available on Amazon with Prime shipping for $9.52.
Peripera Peri’s Tint Water in Strawberry Juice next to the Innisfree Fruit tint. The former is available on Amazon with Prime shipping for $9.52.

Finally, let me just point out that purchasing these items will set you back about $20 before shipping. That’s pretty amazing for products that have lasted me since June, with daily use. Obviously, these will go bad eventually and the color ranges for the mascara, liner, and tint are limited at best. Still, these win the day for me and I recommend them without hesitation.

What are your favorite daily make-up items? Share in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

