Closet Chronicals

September Purchase List Round 2: Uniqlo & The Capsule Wardrobe Core Collection

In the past few weeks, I’ve finally started using my capsule-esque clothing collection. Unfortunately, as I use the items I do have while temperatures continue to dip towards their usual freezing levels, I am realizing that my clothing collection isn’t exactly as I need it to be yet. Thus, September shopping round 2 has commenced.

So what has been the cause of this shopping round, you ask? Last weekend our washing machine was suddenly out of commission for about a day, and I was faced with the possibility of not doing laundry that weekend. No big deal, I could go do my laundry elsewhere, but as I stood in front of my closet it dawned on me that I just don’t have enough clothes to wear for two weeks. Again, not a huge problem, but my goal was to make my life easier by owning a great core collection, not to become super attached to doing laundry. Further, with coldness creeping in and the A/C working full-blast in my classroom, I can no longer rely on my sleeveless work blouses to keep me going. Enter shopping, round 2. 

All Basics, All the Time:

Since I seem to have developed a strong and long-lasting love affair with Numbers (Mac’s version of Excel), the first thing I decided to do before buying anything was to determine what exactly I mean and need when it comes to a “core/basics” collection.

This is what I came up with: items I need, Items I'd like for our freezing winter, and items I'd love to have.
This is what I came up with: items I need, Items I’d like for our freezing winter, and items I’d love to have. Once I buy my core collection, I’ll move to purchasing my warmer winter list and then hopefully one day get to my wish list!

First, I listed what I thought my core collection should consist of:

  • 3/4 and long-sleeve shirts
  • Buttoned shirts
  • Cardigans
  • Sweaters
  • Jackets
  • Coats
  • Gloves

These would be lighter items made out of natural fibers that I can wear daily with ease. I decided to make a list of the amount of items I’d like to have in each category, and then reduced the amount I currently have. This left me with a specific shopping list I could work with this month.

Average cost of each item is included. You'll notice I chose to go with Uniqlo for most of my items...
This is my purchase roadmap for the months to come.

Next, I decided to buy most of my basics from Uniqlo, partly because basics is what they excel at, and partly because I am so pleased with my Merino Wool cardigans. Moreover, their prices also make it easier for me to buy enough items without breaking my budget to bits, and honestly… their recent collaboration with Ines de la Fressange has me smitten.

Affordable retro French chic, anyone?
Affordable retro French chic, anyone?

My Shopping List: 

Long-sleeve and 3/4 shirts are a staple in my closet. These were the first items I added to my cart since I rely so heavily on them.

Weekend & casual Friday pullover that I plan on wearing with jeans and my E.Porselli black ballerinas. Picture credit: UNIQLO website.
Weekend & casual Friday pullover that I plan on wearing with jeans and my E.Porselli black ballerinas. $14.90 on sale. 
Picture credit: UNIQLO website.
I saw this shirt worn in one of the Uniqlo Instagram store feeds. It was styled with a navy jacket and looked so comfortable, I decided I needed one of these. Picture credit: UNIQLO website.
I saw this shirt worn in one of the Uniqlo Instagram store feeds. It was styled with a navy jacket and looked so comfortable, I decided I needed one of these. $29.90 and made with 100% cotton. 
Picture credit: UNIQLO website.
Since Cuyana seems to be refusing to sell long sleeve Pima cotton shirts, I decided to try this Supima cotton 3/4 shirt. Hoping for softness! Picture credit: UNIQLO website.
Since Cuyana seems to be refusing to sell long sleeve Pima cotton shirts, I decided to try this Supima cotton 3/4 shirt. Hoping for softness! $ Each one costs $14.90. 
Picture credit: UNIQLO website.

Next, I wanted to find top layers that would add something new and different to my wardrobe. I went with colors I don’t have yet, but ones I would still be comfortable wearing.

Since my love for my new Extra Fine Merino Wool V-Neck cardigan is just growing stronger, I decided I needed another one sooner rather than later. I went with crewneck to see if the fit would be tighter.
Since my love for my new Extra Fine Merino Wool V-Neck cardigan is just growing stronger, I decided I needed another one sooner rather than later. I went with crewneck to see if the fit would be tighter. Cost: $39.90.                                                                   Picture credit: UNIQLO website.
The collaboration with Ines de la is filled with amazing looking jacket that I'd love to own, but am worried that I just won't use. I saw this one one sale from their 2014 collaboration and decided to give it a try. On sale for $29.90 Picture credit: UNIQLO website.
The collaboration with Ines de la Fressange is filled with amazing looking jacket that I’d love to own, but am worried that I just won’t use. I saw this one one sale from their 2014 collaboration and decided to give it a try. On sale for $29.90
Picture credit: UNIQLO website.

Finally, I love wearing buttoned-up shirts, but have one left in my collection from about two years ago in light blue (from H&M). Specifically, I looked for shirts that would work with the items I bought above and already have.

Another Ines de la Fressange purchase. I had a huge J Crew buttoned shirt I wanted to never wear again, so I was looking for a new one to replace it. This one had an interesting twist which would elevate it from your run-of-the-mill white shirt.
Another Ines de la Fressange purchase. I had a huge J Crew buttoned shirt I wanted to never wear again, so I was looking for a new one to replace it. This one had an interesting twist which would elevate it from your run-of-the-mill white shirt. Costs $39.90.       Picture credit: UNIQLO website.
The IDLF collaboration really offers more interesting basics! This buttoned shirt won me over with it's floral pattern. This will be my first navy shirt, so I hope I feel comfortable wearing it. Costs $39.90. Picture credit: UNIQLO website.
The IDLF collaboration really offers more interesting basics! This buttoned shirt won me over with it’s floral pattern. This will be my first navy shirt, so I hope I feel comfortable wearing it. Costs $39.90.
Picture credit: UNIQLO website.

I am hoping these shirts end up being more fitted than they look in these images, since I prefer having fitted shirts.

Once these arrive, I’ll write a new post about my experience with these purchases. The IDLF collection looks so beautiful that I want to pretty much buy everything in it, but will use these to test the waters. If it all fits as I hope, I’ll be coming back for more in October!

Have you purchased any items from this collections? What do you define as basics? Leave comments below. 

Leave a Reply

