Closet Chronicals

Hermés Purchase and Planning Tale P.2 Round Up: Scarf, Twilly, Evelyne, and Calvi

In my last post I discussed getting to the Hermés store in Brussels looking like a huge mess, after pretty much 24 hours of travel by bus, train, and plane. I’ve decided to shorten this series, as I am not sure I can contribute much by sharing my experience except to say that the PurseForum thread discussing treatment at Hermés stores had truly terrified me.

On our way to the store I told my husband that I doubt we would walk away from that store with anything. I was totally wrong, and I found that their style of service allowed me to direct myself. That is to say, I asked for something and they showed it to me if they had it. No one offered me something I didn’t ask for, and I really appreciated that. I didn’t feel bad turning down someone’s suggestion which I really appreciate, although I did exercise pretty much all my self restraint when I walked away from an orange canvas Garden Party (afraid of the color) and a Raisin Victoria II (too small). By the way, I am in-love with that deep purple color, and I am hoping one day to own a bag in that color.

I pretty much opened all boxes and started using my purchases immediately.
I pretty much opened all boxes and started using my purchases immediately.

In short, the SAs that helped me were extremely professional, patient, and generous with their time and assistance. They didn’t make me feel like I had to buy anything, and they were happy to answer my questions, and were even happy to make phone calls to other stores and customs to help us.  The Hermés shop in Antwerp  also had extremely patient and helpful SAs, and I realized there that I enjoy shopping in their stores when it’s mostly empty because that’s when I could jump from department to department and try everything that was on my wishlist slowly and without feeling like I was holding up a line of shoppers. I ended up buying a taurillon clemence Rubis Evelyne, and my husband got a Steve bag.

This proved to be the perfect travel bag.
This proved to be the perfect travel bag.
Other than hold my Macaroons, Evelyne had enough space for everything I needed.
Other than hold my Macaroons, Evelyne had enough space for everything I needed.

Speaking of excellent service, my husband’s Steve actually had it’s strap stitch break after about a week of use. We returned to the store, and the SAs immediately offered us a replacement in the same color or in a color of our choosing. They were even happy to ship us a bag from another country in Europe, without any charge. This was great service in our book, and we felt very satisfied with their help. New Steve is doing well, by the way.

In terms of  my trimmed down “capsule-esque” closet resolution, I am happy to say it stands. Each item I bought replaced another item I gave away, or donated. I actually now own and use two bags. Full disclosure, I have a third tote bag that I had initialed and seem to be stuck with, unless there’s an AR somewhere who wants it. Not sure what to do with that one. Either way, I am holding on to my goal of only buying 28 items for the last six months of the year and donating something every time I add something new.

Tyger Tyger in 90 cm.
Tyger Tyger in 90 cm.
Please excuse the wrinkles. What do you do to keep yours less wrinkly?
Please excuse the wrinkles. What do you do to keep yours less wrinkly?

In terms of accessories, I also got the beautiful Tyger Tyger scarf and have worn it pretty much constantly ever since I got it. I try to iron it on low setting weekly, because I seem to cause it to wrinkle consistently, but I wasn’t diligent enough with wait time before wearing it after splashing on my perfume. Hence, it smells lovely but that’s likely not great in the long run.

Wandering around Leuven, wearing my scarf.
Wandering around Leuven, wearing my scarf.

I also got a Twilly, which I have initially planned on using to shorten the strap of my Evelyne with, but ended up using as a hairband all the time.

This box is seriously adorable.
This box is seriously adorable.
I think my Twilly is the only thing I bought that is showing some wear.
I think my Twilly is the only thing I bought that is showing some wear.

Finally, I also decided to buy a Calvi card case. I was worried that having my cards slide around from side to side would drive me nuts, but I realized that if I place most of my cards on one side and a couple of bills on the other side it all works out. I did also pick up a Louis Vuitton key pouch to keep my car fob and loose change. I almost never have loose change, but I always need my car fob and it does not fit in the Calvi, by the way.

I use these two as my wallet. The Calvi to hold cards and the key pouch to hold, well, my fob.
I use these two as my wallet. The Calvi to hold cards and the key pouch to hold, well, my fob.

I really enjoy using all of these lovely items on a regular basis and I can totally see why some people own so many Hermés pieces. They are so beautiful and well made, and just a pleasure to look at and use. I already have a huge wish list for my next “Hermésing”, but I plan on adding more items thoughtfully and when my budget allows me.

Wandering around Spain (Segovia? Maybe?) with Evelyne and short shorts. I actually had to buy these and I broke my no shorts rule. That's how hot it was.
Wandering around Spain (Segovia? Maybe?) with Evelyne and short shorts. I actually had to buy these and I broke my no shorts rule. That’s how hot it was.

That is all I got. If you’d like to hear more about any item or have any question please leave a comment below. Otherwise, what is your favorite Hermés purchase?

Leave a Reply

