Closet Chronicals

Hermés Purchase and Planning Tale P.1 + Accessories Round Up

When my husband and I decided to go on our recent Europe + Israel mega vacation, we decided that it might be time to splurge. I was looking at purchasing a used Louis Vuitton bag, and in the process of researching the brand and bags (and talking about it like there’s nothing else in the world), my husband suggested we each take a budget and go crazy  we purchase a few items we really want in the luxury bag “department”.

I adopted this idea without much hesitation as you might imagine, set a budget based on the amount we saved up, and started a new love affair with this particular Number’s spreadsheet:

I may enjoy spreadsheets a little too much.
I may enjoy spreadsheets a little too much.

At first, I was sure I was going for a Louis Vuitton bag. They are a classic, they seem to hold value, and I could afford to buy two of them, plus a few other extras. I spent countless hours checking unboxing and reviews on YouTube, reading about the brand, and on PurseForums since this was a huge purchase and I wanted to make sure I spent money on something I really loved. By the way, If you are interested in learning about Louis Vuitton bags, check out these amazingly smart, funny, and entertaining ladies:  Minks4All, LVlover CC, and Robyn A. There are so many more Youtubers, but these are my favorite Vloggers. In fact, it was Robyn A who finally got me interested in Hermés.

I spent many hours researching and comparing US and European prices using this site.
I spent many hours researching and comparing US and European prices using this site.

Oh Hermés. I didn’t dare dream, at first.  It seemed like it was super expensive, hard to shop at, and likely that I wouldn’t get anything I was interested in purchasing. Still, I changed my spreadsheet and continued to learn about this brand.

Leaning towards Hermés.
Leaning towards Hermés.

I liked that the bags are much more low-key than Louis Vuitton bags. I liked that they were leather and not canvas for the price I was paying. I liked that they hold up physically and financially over time. The PurseForums made me truly concerned about the way I would be treated when I went into a boutique, but my husband got excited about purchasing his own Hermés bag, and there was no going back.

This is what I was looking for when I entered the boutique in Brussels.
This is what I was looking for when I entered the boutique in Brussels.

After an 8 hours flight we landed in Amsterdam, planning on heading straight to the duty-free boutique at the airport. Excited about our vacation, tired due to the flight, and apparently confused, we totally missed it by leaving the international terminal almost immediately and entering the European side of the airport. Thus, we didn’t make it. Fast forward another flight, and we landed in Brussels at 10 am. Our flight to Tel Aviv was scheduled to 9pm, and after getting our bearings and storing our luggage, we headed out to the city in 35 Celsius (95F), walking to the nearest Hermés boutique. To be continued. 

In the meantime, let me reveal these beauties:

What's in the box, you ask?
What’s in the box, you ask?
This pretty! A sliver Chaîne d'Ancre Enchaînée ring.
This pretty! A sliver Chaîne d’Ancre Enchaînée ring.
Very light, and shiny.
Very light, and shiny.
Hapi 3 in Swift leather, in the color Etoupe.
Hapi 3 in Swift leather, in the color Etoupe with gold hardware.
The SA actually punched two more holes in my Hapi to make sure it wasn't too loose.
You can actually see the two holes the SA punched in my Hapi to make sure it wasn’t too loose.

Finally, this is how they look together:

IMG_3270
I don’t shy away from mixing my metals.

I’ll share my initial thoughts about these two in a few weeks, and a more detailed review in 6 months. I am currently wearing this ring daily, and the Hapi 3 bracelet when I go out and about.

Stay tuned for Part 2: The Brussels Shop & Silks Roundup. How did you decide which luxury goods to buy? What is your favorite Hermés accessory? 

2 thoughts on “Hermés Purchase and Planning Tale P.1 + Accessories Round Up

Leave a Reply

