Skincare Review

The Sticky Chronicles: Eminence Stone Crop Set Review

Quick disclaimer before I get started: I used this set for about 3 weeks before totally giving up on it, which perhaps isn’t the greatest. See, skin cell turnover rates at my age seem to take about 30-40 days, so normally I’d like to give a product this much time before making up my mind about it. I want to really know how my skin reacts to it, and not waiting long enough means I can’t tell if I’m having some weird reaction to something, or what.

However, knowing I am about to go on a 3 weeks trip abroad, I just didn’t have enough time to wait for full results and it became quickly apparent that this wasn’t going to be a product I would love. I needed to find a replacement to it quickly, and I am using a new whole skincare regime right now in preparation for my trip abroad that I will discuss in future posts. With that in mind, let’s get started.

I decided to replace my Juice Beauty skincare products with Eminence's Stone Crop collection and also added Argan oil to the mix. More on that in a different post.
I decided to replace my Juice Beauty skincare products with Eminence’s Stone Crop collection and also added Argan oil to the mix. More on that in a different post.

What: 

Eminence Organics Stone Crop Collection, which includes:

•Stone Crop Gel Wash (0.5 oz / 15 ml)

•Stone Crop Gel Hydrator (0.5 oz / 15 ml)

•Stone Crop Masque (0.5 oz / 15 ml)

•Stone Crop Whip Moisturizer (0.5 oz / 15 ml)

•Stone Crop Serum (1 oz / 30 ml)

Screenshot of the Eminence website.
Screenshot of the Eminence website.

This information, plus more details about Eminence can be found on their website.

Why: 

  1. Look! A whole skincare routine! Again, I wanted to try a whole routine and not just individual products.
  2. The whole kit was cheaper than buying just the serum, and it seemed like it would be a better idea to try the whole line and not just the serum.
  3. This company’s products seemed to be mostly OK according to the EWG database.
  4. The serum got really great reviews on Dermstore, although it seemed like most reviewers were interested in it’s lightning effects.
  5. If they use these products at a spa, they must be working for most people! Right?
  6. After being so disappointed with Juice Beauty, I wondered if a higher-end product line that’s also somewhat natural would be better overall.
  7. Quick Amazon Prime shipping really sealed the deal for me.
Dermstore screenshot of the serum listing. Check out how many reviews it has!
Dermstore screenshot of the serum listing. Check out how many reviews it has!

How:

This set came in a beautiful wooden tube, and I can see how this would be a great gift to give someone! It felt really unique and really set high expectations because this kind of attention to details can only be a great sign of a company that took the time to develop something amazing…right?

The Good:

The gel wash was actually quite nice. The smell of this whole line is delicately/naturally perfumed and I could really smell it when using this gel. My super duper dry skin seemed to feel OK after each wash, and it did remove my foundation so I was quite pleased. I didn’t use it to remove eye makeup, so I can’t comment on that. The sample was generous enough to last the whole 3 weeks when I used it for cleansing day and night.

I think this product is gentle enough for dry and sensitive skin, and I didn’t have any (more) breakouts using it. Out of this set, I would recommend trying this if you are in the market for a cleanser even though I’ve moved on to a different cleanser which I like more.

This packaging feels very eco-friendly and lux.

The Bad:

The gel hydrator was not effective at ALL in moisturizing my skin. The set came with instructions that suggested this could be used in the morning, and I did try doing that. Sadly, after about 30 minutes my skin felt so tight and dry that I had to apply the Whip Moisturizer on top of it. The gel consistency is certainly interesting, though. I’m used to heavy moisturizers but this was so light that if felt like a great summer moisturizer. If it worked, that is.

So, after about 3 days I totally gave up on it and used the whip moisturizer morning and evening. This one is SUPER heavy, and has a real thick consistency. The smell seemed more artificial then the rest of the products and has a light green color (as does everything else in this line). The feeling of having this moisturizer on my face is hard to describe, but suffice to say that you feel like you have something on your face. It took my skin a while to absorb it, and my dry skin was back to it’s patchiness within 6 hours of using it. So, even though it’s so heavy and seems to initially work for my dry dry skin, it really didn’t.

Stone Crop 2

One thing that was a recurring issue for me in this line was the sticky after feeling I constantly had on my face. It just didn’t seem to matter what product I was using…They are all sticky. I kept touching my face and was immensely annoyed with this feeling by the end of week 2. In fact, it was one of the main reasons I couldn’t stand to use this line for more than 3 weeks.

Furthermore, I wondered if I bought the wrong set for my skin type. I totally see a possible reason why I was so disappointed with this set! Each item in this set refers to hydration, but it’s totally possible I assumed wrongly that it would suit my dry skin.

The Meh and Undetermined: 

The masque has green bits in it, but that wasn’t a deterrent for me! I was pleased, since it suggested real unprocessed ingredients are used to make it. I used this masque about 3 times before I gave up, since it didn’t seem to exfoliate or hydrate my skin. I actually ended up feeling somewhat confused as to the purpose it had.

The serum comes in a glass bottle with a dropper. The consistency of the serum is not too thick or runny and it's also green!

The serum is where the real disappointment kicked in for me. I can deal with it being sticky, but it doesn’t hydrate my skin well and that is what I need it to do. I also didn’t see any brightening effects that I can really, truly, objectively attribute to using it. The reviews I read about this serum really spoke highly about this attribute, and it left me wondering if it only works for pigmentation or sunspots, and not for the creation of an even skin tone. Since I didn’t buy it for this purpose and since the reviews really highlight this quality, I would recommend trying this product if that’s what you are after.

And Finally…

Love: The washing/cleansing gel is quite nice. It cost about $38 on Dermstore for a 4.2 ounces and it suits all skin types. My current cleanser is cheaper, and I’ll talk about it in a separate post which I will link here as soon as I write it 🙂 Also of note, is the packaging of the whole set and the items themselves. The creams/gels/masque all come in small plastic screw-top containers, which can be repurposed. For example, I am about to use them during my upcoming travels for my Innisfree sleeping packs for added hydration during my fights.

Hate: Sticky. So very sticky. It could be that if you have normal skin you will love the level of hydration these products offer, but beware of the sticky feeling it leaves on the skin.

Meh: The serum seems promising if you are looking for something to lighten pigmented skin. I would not buy it again for it’s hydration properties, since it did nothing to help my skin patchiness.

I've cleaned and labeled these containers ahead of my trip. Innisfree has sleeping packs (like a nighttime moisturizer) that come in small quantity and I find it difficult to close the tiny packaging. I thought the Eminence containers can be used for that :)
I’ve cleaned and labeled these containers ahead of my trip. Innisfree has sleeping packs (like a nighttime moisturizer) that come in small quantity and I find it difficult to close the tiny packaging. I thought the Eminence containers can be used for that 🙂

Leftover Plans: I am still using the serum every few days in my new Korean 5 step skincare routine. I really don’t want to just chuck it out, and since it didn’t irritate my skin I feel like I might as well use it up. In terms of the hydrator gel and whip moisturizer… I knew I wasn’t going to use them ever again and didn’t want to hoard them. Into the garbage they went.

I feel like it’s really important to try travel / sample sizes of more expensive creams and serums. I can’t stress enough how annoying it is to be stuck with a full-size version of something that isn’t going to work for you. I don’t always follow this lesson, but I do try to stick to it when possible and I’m really pleased I did in this instance.

I do apologize for the length of this review, and promise to keep it shorter next time!

Leave a Reply

