Skincare Review

Sometimes Things Don’t Work Out: Juice Beauty Daily Hydrating Solutions Kit Review

In my quest to reduce the overall dryness and redness of my skin, I’ve searched for a product line that is both organic and hydrating. Juice Beauty seemed to tick these two boxes, so let’s talk about it’s performance and why it didn’t work out.

What:

Juice Beauty sells a kit called “Daily Hydrating Solutions” which includes:

•2 oz. Cleansing Milk

•.5 oz GREEN APPLE™ Peel, Sensitive

•.26 oz. Antioxidant Serum

•1 oz. Hydrating Mist

•.5 oz. Nutrient Moisturizer

•Eco-washcloth

Screenshot of the Juice Beauty website, and the kit.
Screenshot of the Juice Beauty website, and the kit.

Why:

  1. Look! A whole skincare routine!
  2. The EWG rates this company and the ingredients they use very highly. Or should I say, lowly? Either way, it seems safe to use.
  3. Easy access! My love of Amazon Prime is endless.
  4. Hm. A chemical-based peel can help me exfoliate without the added bonus of broken capillaries.

How:

I started using this kit (as suggested) as soon as I got it, which was in March 2015. I decided that if I was going to really deal with my skin being SO VERY dry, I should adopt a full routine and hop-onto-it without carefully introducing one product at a time. Time was of the essence, people. I couldn’t keep scratching my face in public.

Moisturizer: At first, the moisturizer didn’t seem like it did anything, but I assumed that this was due to my skin being so dehydrated. The smell is herby, but not in a bad way. The cream is so thick and almost felt like I was trying to rub sunscreen onto my face. My skin would still flake by around noon, no matter how much of it I slathered on my face. But ever the optimist, when I finished my kit sized version of it, I still felt like I wasn’t convinced that it was or wasn’t working for me. I still needed more data.

This is the full size version of the moisturizer.
This is the full size version of the moisturizer.

I decided to stop using it, switch only to the serum, and see what happens. See, by about 4 weeks in, I had a constant rash on my forehead and I wondered if this was the problem. It was the serum, so I decided to buy the full version of this moisturizer. After another 3 weeks had passed, I decided this was not working for me. I can only scratch my face so much.

The consistency is very very thick, and paste-like.
The consistency is very very thick, and paste-like.

Mist: the mist felt amazing, at first. It felt hydrating, and the idea of using it mid-day to avoid flakiness seemed like heaven. I really didn’t think it wasn’t working for me until after I bought the full-sized version of it and was attempting to use it to moisturize my face by spritzing it approximately 7 times in a row during a particularly long day at school. This taught me that mists are interesting, but if I have to use them repeatedly they are probably not working for me.

Ah...the mist. I had such high hopes! This is the full-size version.
Ah…the mist. I had such high hopes! This is the full-size version.

The serum: Felt weird, since it just seemed to sit on my skin and do nothing much. I knew from talking to my mom that serums are what: A. Adults use. and B. Helps ensure your face is really moisturized. So, I decided to persist. I decided to buy a full-size version that I could return if it didn’t work out. See, I suspected that it was causing breakouts, but I couldn’t prove it since I started the whole routine at once. You’ll see that this is a mistake I don’t actually learn from.

Long story short… It was the culprit. The moment I stopped using it, my dry skin stopped being dried AND bumpy.

Honorable Mention: Cleansing Milk:  So very gentle on my skin, that it fails to remove any foundation from my face; yet, is perfectly awesome when it comes to removing mascara and eyeliner! This travel sized cleanser is the one this I still use from this brand.

The cleansing milk and washcloth.

The Peel: I got nothing. I used it a few times, and it felt tingly. I didn’t see any major or minor improvement, but this seems like one of those products you use consistently to see results. I may try it again in the future.

And Finally…

Love: The ingredients, the generous travel size, and the idea if it.

Hate: Lack of any help for my skin type, and constant irritation.

Meh: The peel. An interesting replacement option for regular exfoliation, since I can’t use the Clarisonic.

Leftover Plans: I now use the face moisturizer as a body moisturizer, and ensure sufficient hydration by mixing it with Argan oil. The face mist…Well, I have no clue how to use it up. Do you?

If you have truly dry skin, I have doubts that this would work for you. Beware of the serum, too, if you have sensitive skin. I really wanted this one to work…Alas, it really didn’t.

Leave a Reply

